The Think-in is a one-day event focusing on the theme “Security Cyber Physical Systems by Design.” The event will include a sequence of brainstorming sessions. Each session will be devoted to a specific sub-topic under the general theme led by a panel of experts. These experts will present key issues within the sub theme and the state of the art techniques and tools to address these issues. Presentation by the panellists will be followed by a discussion involving key-discussants as well as all event attendees focusing on the strengths and limitations of the existing tools and techniques. This discussion is expected to lead to proposals for further research and potential international collaborations. The entire discussion during the first day will be summarised and compiled into a report.

Participants: The Think-in is a by-invitation-only event. Several leading researchers have agreed to participate. In addition, a selected set of engineers and managers from various private and Government institutions in Singapore will also participate.

Support: Think-in is organised by iTrust with support from the Ministry of Defence and the SUTD-MIT International Design Centre (IDC).

The following have been invited as panellists to speak at Think-in:

Neil Hershfield – Keynote speaker
Neil Hershfield is the Deputy Director of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Industrial Control Systems Cyber Emergency Response Team (ICS-CERT). ICS-CERT operates within the National Cybersecurity and Integration Center (NCCIC), to bring a control systems focus to the mission of protecting the Nation’s critical infrastructure from physical and cyber threats.

Alvaro Cardenas
Alvaro Cardenas is an Assistant Professor at the University of Texas at Dallas, where he is a member of the Cyber Security Research and Education Institute.

Mauro Conti
Mauro Conti is a Full Professor at University of Padova, working in the area of security and privacy.

Jorge Cuellar
Dr. Jorge Cuellar is working in Corporate Research at Siemens AG.

Dieter Gollmann
Dieter Gollmann is a Full Professor for Security in Distributed Applications at Hamburg University of Technology.

Gerhard Hancke
Gerhard Hancke is Assistant Professor with the Department of Computer Science at City University of Hong Kong.

Robert Kooij
Robert Kooij is a Principle Scientist at TNO working on Critical ICT Infrastructures, and part-time full professor at the Delft University of Technology.

Marina Krotofil
Marina Krotofil is Lead Cyber Security Researcher at Honeywell.

Matthieu Lec’Hvien
Matthieu LEC’HVIEN is R&D Leader of Secure-IC.

Soon Chia Lim
Soon Chia Lim is Director (Technology) of Cyber Security Agency of Singapore. In his current role, he is responsible for capability development, evaluation and certification, technology management, and R&D for cyber security.

Sjouke Mauw
Sjouke Mauw is a Full Professor in “Security and Trust of Software Systems” at the University of Luxembourg in the Computer Science and Communications Research Unit.

David M. Nicol
David Nicol is a Director at the Information Trust Institute, and Franklin W. Woeltge Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UIUC .

David Ong
David Ong is CEO/ Managing Director of Excel Marco, a solutions provider for Process Automation & Safety Systems

Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani
Sahra Sedigh Sarvestani is an Associate Professor at the Missouri University of Science & Technology working on Dependable networks and systems for environmental and structural monitoring.

Biplab Sikdar
Biplab Sikdar is a Associate Professor in the ECE department at the National University of Singapore.